Product Review : Method Steel for Real

One day I’m going to do a review that isn’t glowingly positive, I promise. However, that day is not today!

There are only a couple of places in the house that I’ve made a habit of using bleach – to clean toilets and to shine the stainless steel kitchen sink. To be honest, though, I’ve wanted to quit using bleach in an effort to cut down on the harmful chemicals around our home for a while now. I managed to change my habits as far as cleaning the toilets went, as described in setup step 12, and have had some success making more of a habit on the kitchen sink and so cutting down on bleach. However, it bothered me that I couldn’t get the sink as shiny without bleach and so I’ve been on the lookout for a good steel cleaner for a while. I’m a fan and regular user of a lot of Method’s non-toxic cleaning products, so when I spotted this Method “Steel for Real” cleaner in John Lewis the other day, I thought I’d give it a try.

wp-1366227711164

It’s really easy to use – the instructions say to squirt some on a cloth, rub it around and then use a dry cloth to buff it off (I’m paraphrasing, but that’s about all there is to it). It was quick and easy, and I’m pleased with the results. It’s a shiny clean looking sink with no elbow grease, no stink of bleach and none of the toxic residue. Okay, it’s maybe not quite bleachy-shiny, but equally it’s not all streaky like it is if you leave bleach too long as well.

Verdict : More expensive but safer alternative to bleach for shiny stainless steel.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment